Or, continue to boil down the water. I'm a personal chef, wife and mama of two young boys. All the best, Kaitlin. I love that there are not a lot of ingredients, it is easy to make, and yet it is very tasty! Allow soup to cool slightly and serve with herbs and parmesan cheese. Stir in potato, lentils, garlic, parsley, fennel greens, salt, ground black pepper, cayenne pepper, and turmeric. Taste the soup and add salt and pepper to taste. loved it so much!!! When stirring the soup while the potatoes and lentils are cooking, be sure to use your wooden spoon to press down any potato cubes that may have risen to the surface to ensure all the potatoes cook in the liquid. I made it last night for dinner and my husband and son loved it. Add lentils and Course Soup Cuisine American, International, Vegan Servings 4 Calories 218 kcal Ingredients 1 tablespoon olive oil 1 onion chopped 4 medium carrots coarsely grated cup (140g) dried red lentils uncooked 4 cups (1 litre) vegetable stock/broth cup (100ml) milk or dairy free vegan milk 1 teaspoon ground cumin To serve (optional) Let's keep it short and sweet: lentils rock.They are easy to cook, and filled with nutrients, protein and fiber. If needed, turn the heat down to avoid burning the spices. Sometimes Ill add some shaved Parmesan but really the soup is delicious on its own. Thanks so much for giving the recipes a try. What I love even more: sharing them with you! How to organize your refrigerator to keep your ingredients fresh and healthy. Or, for more protein, you can enjoy a cup of the soup paired with a serving of grilled fish or chicken breast. It sounds like you were able to make it work based on what you had in the house and also tweaked it to your tastes, which is why I love soup recipes, they are so flexible! Deselect All. Pour 4 cups of water on top. When the potatoes and lentils are tender, turn off the burner. I use a "no-oil saut method". Then, pour the cubed potatoes, lentils, vegetable broth, and water into th